4 Teams With New Captains in the Cricket World Cup 2023

4 Teams With New Captains in the Cricket World Cup 2023

4 Teams With New Captains in the Cricket World Cup 2023

The 13th edition of the men’s World Cup will be held in India in October and November 2023. The World Cup 2023 will be a watershed moment for several nations that have long failed to make an impact in huge competitions like World Cups. If a player plays exceptionally well in high-pressure World Cup matches, his game status and branding will rise in tandem. The same thing happened in 2019 with Rohit Sharma and David Warner. Both were struggling with bad form, and their teams were considering replacements, but they hit five and four centuries, respectively, and demonstrated their invincibility in the cricketing sphere.

But, following the conclusion of the 2019 World Cup, several national teams faced a leadership crisis, which may jeopardise their chances in the future vital World Cup 2023, so here are four teams that will truly change and step in with neo leadership in the upcoming edition of the WC.

4 Teams With New Captains in the Cricket World Cup 2023

Rohit Sharma is number one (Ind).

Following the World Cup disaster, the management of the 2019 Indian team has dismissed skipper Virat Kohli from the leadership role and appointed his counterpart Rohit Sharma as the new captain. From the World Cup in 2019 to the T20 World Cup in 2021, Virat Kohli has been a persistent failure, which has led the team management to rule him out of the captaincy. After a clean sweep of the West Indies in the T20 and one-day international series, the new skipper Sharma has made a pleasant start to his leadership.

Nicholas Pooran is number two (WI).

Following the retirement of Caribbean great Kieron Pollard, the skillful southpaw Nicholas Pooran has been named as the new leader of West Indies for the limited-overs tournament. Pooran has been great in the last couple of West Indies series, and the Windies team management has given him the most important role on the team by keeping his golden form in mind. Pooran has played 37 one-day games in his career, scoring 1121 runs at an impressive average of over 40.

Azam Babar is number three (Pak).

The Pakistan team management had been living in a fantasy world following the team’s victory in the ICC Champions Trophy in 2017. Sarfaraz was also given the role of leadership for the World Cup 2019, but he has deflated all of Pakistan cricket fans’ and the PCB’s ambitions, leading to his disappointment from the position of leadership. Now, Pakistan’s inform star Babar Azam has been given the captaincy of the squad, and perhaps, he will go around all the hopes of Pakistan cricket fans and lead the team to a triumphant World Cup 2023.

Temba Bavuma is number four (SA).

Faf Du Plessis’ jinx has consistently run the South African team in international matches. So, in 2020, South Africa’s newly chosen skipper Temba Bavuma began to rebuild the team, and his efforts have proven fruitful for the team. The South African team recently trounced India 3-0 in an ODI series that took place in February. Thus, Temba Bavuma holds the fresh prospects of the South African team in the World Cup 2023, and perhaps he will live up to all expectations.

You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply